Anime Challenge #1 Very first anime you watched: Fullmetal Alchemist


Whenever you take on a ‘challenge’ it’s always nice when you’re given something nice to get you going and when it comes to anime, the first thing you’ve ever watched has got to be the easiest to chose. However, there is a bit of a problem,  I can’t particularly remember why I thought the 2003 version of Fullmetal Alchemist was any good – I mean, I’m pretty sure it was good, I gave it a 9 on MAL and carried on watching anime afterwards…

What a trio.
What a trio.

There were certain things that stood out for me though. Most notably (even in comparison to Brotherhood which I watched about a year afterwards) was the comic aspect of the anime. In FMA Maes Hughs (one of the best characters ever animated) was an absolute revelation – showing off why anime character can be as genuinely funny as real people while still having a serious edge made evident through his (sometimes overt) love of family. Even the relationship between Ed and Al Elric – particularly in the first few arcs – felt funny and genuine.

Greed is generally a seriously misunderstood character (child).
Greed is generally a seriously misunderstood character (child).

My other favourite aspect of FMA had to be characters – particularly the villains. Greed in particular was fantastic, creating a third ‘side’ of the conflict throughout the show, everything he did fitted in with what you would expect from a character called Greed. What’s more, when it came to the end of his part in the story, I couldn’t help but feel sorry for him as the Elric’s main enemies brought him to ruin to further their own gains.

Fullmetal Alchemist is an anime full of great characters.
Fullmetal Alchemist is an anime full of great characters.

It’s true that having watched Brotherhood afterwards, I did enjoy that more – but not by much, and only in certain aspects. I will always frown a little when thinking of Brotherhood for how it skipped over most of Hughes’ storyline as it was, for me at least, the best part of a great first anime.

The second title in the challenge is ‘Favourite anime watched so far’ and although I’ll be able to write more on that, it’s going to be much harder to choose! *gulp*

Thanks for reading! 😀

2 thoughts on “Anime Challenge #1 Very first anime you watched: Fullmetal Alchemist”

  1. What an excellent introduction into the wonderful world of anime. FMA is one of my fave shows of all time. Brotherhood has a better finale, but the original series is still worth a gander because it doesn’t rush through the early story line.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so lucky that I had friends that insisted I watch it first – it’s definitely a great anime to start with! I couldn’t agree more, I loved Brotherhood throughout, but the original does the opening just that little bit better.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

