Anime Challenge #3 Favourite Male Character: Rintarou Okabe


When I came to start thinking about writing this article I sort of wished that I was able to write about some really niche character from an equally niche anime that is under valued by the community. Obviously that hasn’t happened – but can you blame me?

If you read my previous challenge post on Guilty Crown you’ll remember me saying I differentiate between the ‘best’ anime and my favourite. In my opinion Steins;Gate is far and away the best anime I’ve seen (come on Steins;Gate 0!) and it owes no small thanks to it’s main character for that.

steinsgate_7

Rintarou Okabe, Okarin, or Hououin Kyouma is a nerdy university student with two identities, a largely pointless ‘laboratory’ and a distinct case of chunibyou syndrome. If that wasn’t interesting enough he is the inventor and subject of a time machine that changes his life, causing all manner of problems for those around him.

There are plenty of interesting characters in anime though and I’m sure you could find others that have equally unique circumstances. What puts Okabe on a different level for me however is the way in which he reacts to his circumstances. Without giving too much away – at a certain point in the show time travel really starts to wear at the Mad Scientist and instead of heroically finding an answer, remaining steadfast and strong in face in adversity, he does what anyone else would do: breaks down.

steinsgate_9

You really get the sense that Okabe goes on an emotional journey and through Steins;Gate you are never entirely sure how that journey is going to end. Oh and did I mention he’s self-styled mad scientist throughout? I did? Well it’s worth emphasising.

Anyway – that’s my favourite male anime character! Let me know if you agree or who your favourite is the comments below. The next article in the challenge is my favourite female character and I’ve got a feeling it’ll be a lot more difficult to choose than this one!

Thanks for reading 🙂

2 thoughts on “Anime Challenge #3 Favourite Male Character: Rintarou Okabe”

Leave a Reply

