Building my collection: Your Lie in April part 1 (Blu-Ray)


If you’ve been around for a while you’ll probably know that I’m really big on finding ways to contribute to the anime I love by finding legal ways to watch them. On several occasions I’ve talked about different streaming sites that you can use to watch anime. Today though, I won’t be talking about streaming, but buying – my absolute favourite way to watch an anime. And what better way to do this than with the magnificent Your Lie in April.

Your Lie in April was produced by A-1 Pictures and aired across Autumn 2014 and Winter 2015. It’s western release is finally here courtesy of Aniplex (though I think it got a US release sometime last year?) and for me in the UK, All the Anime.

Having seen the series in Japanese a while ago, I thought I’d give the dub a go this time around and I’m happy to say, so far, the voice actors have done a really good job. It’s always difficult to say if the dub beats the sub, but suffice to say if your preferred way of watching is in English, then Your Lie in April will be very watchable to you.

The release comes in a nice art box and digipack and includes two discs. It also has space for the second release which is scheduled for  the 27th February in the UK.  I don’t have many problems with the release, the art on the box is beautiful and all of the boxes feel nice (though, thanks Amazon for damaging the corner of my box…). However, the one problem that really bothers me is the fact that the digipack is squeezed into it’s case so tightly! It is possible to get it out without damaging it, but I’m sure that someone out there has ruined their set completely by accident.

As for what’s on the discs themselves, you get the first 11 episodes of the show, textless opening and endings and a commentary of episode 1 with the English voice cast of the four main characters and the dub director – I watched this earlier today and I can highly recommend it, it’s a bit of a laugh but they also share their thoughts on the show as well as how they found their parts.

Do I recommend this collection to you? In a word, yes. That said, be aware that the size of the box will drive you mad. Anyway, the show is a masterpiece and the dub seems to be worth a watch so you should be able to ignore the packaging problems.

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

