Anime fans think western media is superior to anime?!


Browsing across the internet, anyone reading this will know that you find some pretty strange, surprising and down right crazy comments. This morning while browsing through the MAL forum (a site you know I love, oh, so much from my last post) and found one user asking if other people feel as if western media was, generally speaking, better than anime.

My immediate reaction was shock – this is one of the home of western anime fans, how can someone be mooting the idea that anime isn’t as good as western TV and films. Between then and now, I have taken stock of the situation, searched some more and found that this is a pretty common topic. I’ve also come to the realisation that not only is such a suggestion not a bad thing, but it’s actually a really good one.

animevtv_1
Cartoons vs Anime? The same? Different? One better than the other? Too many questions for one article…
I really like anime, and watch a lot of it as a result; although I don’t dislike western media, it would be fair to say that I would rarely choose it over a new and interesting anime. In this feeling, I’m sure that I’m not alone and that many of you reading this would, at least to some extent, agree with me. However, I think it’s important that as anime fans we’re not only aware of other types of media, but also in the know about the newest crazes in our own bit of the world.

Anime fans will often brand those who don’t like anime as ignorant – not appreciating the medium, not because they inherently dislike an anime that they once watched but,  because they don’t want to give it a go in the first place. I, myself, have criticised friends of mine who are unwilling to try anime on this very premise. All of that said, it stands to reason that to stand on my high horse and share my experiences of how great anime can be and, why it is often better than other types of entertainment media, I should experience that media for myself too.

got_1
Game of Thrones is one of my favourite western TV shows but I’d hate to have to decide if it was better than my favourite anime.
Don’t get me wrong, I think most fans of anime are probably also fans of most western entertainment as well – being a fan of one doesn’t mean that you’re not a fan of the other. On the contrary, I think to enjoy one ‘better’, it’s best if you appreciate both.

That said, personally my preference is for anime, and as anime fan I’ll be searching for reasons why it’s worth watching, not why we should be watching something else.

How do you feel about comparing anime to western media? Do you actively prefer anime to other types of entertainment or does it depend on the show? This one really made me think, so I’d love to know what everyone else’s opinion too!

 

7 thoughts on “Anime fans think western media is superior to anime?!”

    1. I agree to a point – I think western media can do adult material but often there isn’t all that much variety. With anime though you get so much variation of serious, thought provoking content. Thanks for reading 🙂

      Like

  1. While I love anime, I also love movies, american television series, books from pretty much anywhere, video games, and anything that has a good story. I spend more time on anime these days because there’s a wide variety of easily accessible material but I still spend a lot of time on other forms of storytelling. I don’t really see the point in arguing that one form of story telling is better than another, as long as it tells a good story and is enjoyable, I’m in.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Good points – the story is definitely the most important aspect to any medium. That said, I don’t think there’s anything wrong arguing what your preferred medium (if you have one) does better than others. Thank you both for reading and commenting 🙂

    Like

  3. At the moment, I’m more interested in anime than Western media but I don’t think either one is inherently superior to the other. It’s a matter of preference. It also depends on individual shows, I guess. Personally though, I like the variety anime offers over what other shows/movies do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think you’re spot on about variety in anime being one if it’s strong points. There are lots of western TV shows and movies that I enjoy, but as you say it is down to preference, and I usually just end up going for anime over something else. Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

