Spring 2017 anime to look out for


It’s okay to say it. We’re all pleased that Winter 2017 is starting to reach it’s concluding episodes – for the majority of shows over the last two and a half months, the final three or four episodes will be not be an exhilarating, action packed, high tension, satisfying  conclusion to be savoured but instead will pass most of us by disappointingly wasting 25 minutes every week as they have done for the most of the season.

Maybe I’m being a little harsh, but when you compare what we’ve got now to what we’ve got to look forward to between April and June I wouldn’t blame you for wishing the next few weeks away. It’s still a little early to have completely decided what I’ll be watching for Spring 2017 so here is my ‘preliminary’ list of shows I’m interested in.

Is it wrong to try to pick up girls in a dungeon: Sword Oratoria

The original season of DanMachi was a lot of fun, if slightly lacking in any solid plot. I’m excited to see how they develop the world in the second season as that was one of my favourite parts first time around. I’d like to see the return of the original cast in some way as I actually thought they were really good, but if there’s a good alternative then I guess I’ll get over that.

Clockwork Planet

One of several shows we don’t know lot about next season. Based on an ongoing light novel series by Yuu Kamiya and Tsubaki Himana. It’s tagged as Sci-Fi and Fantasy which could mean anything, but I’m always interested in the artificial intelligence concept so will be checking this one out this month.

Zero kara Hajimeri Mahou no Sho

The first thing I saw here was White Fox. Re:Zero was the pinnacle of anime last year for me and Steins;Gate is my favourite anime ever so I think it’s fair to be excited (that’s not to say they don’t make bad anime, Akame ga Kill was a disappointment). The premise also sounds pretty reasonable, casting asides some of the questionable witch shows we’ve had recently (I’m looking at you Izetta) for what could be a more typical ‘quest’ type storyline. I’m not sure on the main protagonist yet – but maybe some kind of explanation early on will quell any doubts I have.

Eromanga-sensei

I missed having something like this to watch this season. It’s based on a light novel and described as a ‘sibling romantic comedy’ which could be mean anything, however I’ve got a feeling this’ll be a bit of a laugh and quite easy to watch because of it. How on earth anyone a writer/illustrator partnership could somehow not be aware that they were siblings I don’t know, but I’m prepared to go with this for some easing viewing through the Spring season.

Sakurada Reset

I like superpower anime (apart from parodies weirdly…) so Sakurada Reset was one of the first anime I was drawn to for this season. This sounds a bit like Charlotte with the school club and kids with powers complete objectives. The higher organisation is the difference and I think there’s enough originality to give this show something to work with. I’ll definitely be keeping an eye on this as we get closer to April.

Re:Creators

This is an interesting one. The description given in the press release is very intriguing…

‘Humans have created many stories. Joy, sadness, anger, deep emotion. Stories shake our emotions, and fascinate us. However, these are only the thoughts of bystanders. But what if the characters in the story have “intentions”? To them, are we god-like existences for bringing their story into the world? Our world is changed. Meet out punishment upon the realm of the gods. In Re:CREATORS, everyone becomes a Creator.’

Very… post-modern. Or maybe not, but it’s certainly sounds like it wants to be more than the average ‘story’. Hiroyuki Sawano is doing the music which is a plus point but the character designs are off putting even from the trailer – production values don’t particularly mean anything though, right?

This is another one that I’ll need to try for a few episodes before I can say with any certainty what type of show it actually is. It’s Action tag certainly isn’t giving anything away. Fingers crossed for another good one here.

Oh and did I forget to mention this thing I’m a little interested in..

One thought on “Spring 2017 anime to look out for”

  1. Yes, I am down to only a couple of shows that I actually care about this season. It isn’t so much that the season has been bad, more taht it just hasn’t matched my tastes. I know people who are more inclined to high school, romance and comedy have found quite a few shows to enjoy. Still, that is one good thing about anime. If one season doesn’t work for you there’s always the next. That said, ACCA and March Comes in Like a Lion have been greatly appreciated over the last 9 weeks.
    There’s definitely some interesting shows coming out next season though I’ll wait and see what I have access to and what the first episodes look like before I decide my watch list.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

