Attack on Titan season 2: Tetsuro Araki interview


I don’t usually like to share things that were actually released a while ago as if they’re new, but that’s kind of what I’m doing here, but if you haven’t seen this (much like I hadn’t until 15 minutes ago) then I think you might appreciate it!

Chief Director of the upcoming second season of Attack on Titan, Tetsuro Araki gave an interview earlier this month to Aniplus Asia about working on and what we can expect from the new season.

There was a lot in the interview, but if you haven’t got time to watch it at the moment, I’ll give you a quick run down on some of the things he said.

The biggest thing in terms of content had to be on a bigger focus on some of the side characters this time around. Araki said that this season will explore Krista and Ymir’s story a lot more than in the first season – although we got a flavour of them both in the first half (I still laughed rewatching the scene in season 1 where Krista brings Jean, Armin and Reiner an extra horse), there’s definitely a lot more to learn about them, so I’m definitely looking forward to that!

For manga fans, it’s making me think more and more that we won’t be going past the Clash of the Titans Arc, so I wouldn’t expect a return to Shiganshina in season 2. Perhaps that’s not too surprising as the manga arc on finished in the last couple of months, but it is a pretty awesome bit of storytelling.

Otherwise, Araki spoke about the director Masashi Koizuka, who moves up from his role of assistant director in season 1. Naturally, he is quite gushing towards Koizuka, going so far as to say he’s glad that he was born! I’m not sure if this is beautiful or weird…

I recommend you watch the rest of the interview as it’s really interesting and very enjoyable. So far there are three other interviews up on the channel which you might feel like watching; hopefully I’ll get around to them in the next couple of days and you’ll get something from me on them as well.

Also, on a final side note, if you’re new to this channel, or are just fed up with the seemingly endless amount of content on Attack on Titan, I promise I do usually write about other things, and once April starts, you’ll only be getting one article a week on the show and I’ll treat you all to some variety!

Anyway, thanks for reading as always! 😀

2 thoughts on “Attack on Titan season 2: Tetsuro Araki interview”

  1. I, for one, am happy for all your AoT content.

    It’s a little disappointing that we may not get to see the Shiganshina arc because that was truly something else. Clash of the Titans is great too though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

