Episode Focus: Tsuki ga Kirei 1, Spring and Hard Times


I like it when a show is honest about what it is and I can’t remember last seeing something that was quite so honest about itself as Tsuki ga Kirei was in its first episode. This everyone, is a plain old school romance.

Kotarou and Akane have just started the third year at middle school and are in the same class for the first time. Despite not knowing each other they soon notice each spending most of the first episode awkwardly sharing quickly glances, even bumping into each other for family meals at a restaurant after school.

Kotarou is writing a novel and looks after the school library in his spare time, unsurprisingly then he seems to be quite reserved but does a good couple of friends – this is a shut in loner we’re dealing with. Akane on the other hand is on the track team and seems popular all around with those who know her – from what little we saw of her interactions with her club mates in this episode I suspect we’re going to have a love triangle of sorts on our hands.

The two are thrown together as they are both involved in the equipment group for the school festival. It would seem the USP of this particular school romance is the the messaging app, LINE, which the group use to communicate, which also happens to be the way in which Akane first approaches Kotarou at the end of the episode.

I really appreciate the way this episode was shot and framed. We got the perspective of both Kotarou and Akane without ever feeling like we were particularly looking through either’s eyes. It’s an approach that gave us all the information we needed while being detached enough to see events develop independently of both characters.

If I was going to criticise this episode at all it would be that it has a tendency to be a little plain, though this does seem to be the style they’re going for so I’m not sure if that’s fair. They will need to be careful however that this show does just blend into the abyss of anime obscurity. Although I enjoyed episode one, if there a truly standout moment, I can’t help but feel I’ll have forgotten about the show by the end of the summer.

An enjoyable, if understated first episode here and I’ll be looking forward to see where they decide to take it in coming episodes.

What were your thoughts on Tsuki ga Kirei? Did you manage to stay awake through a quiet opening episode or did it have you switching off half way through?

Thanks for reading! 😀

10 thoughts on “Episode Focus: Tsuki ga Kirei 1, Spring and Hard Times”

  1. I didn’t mind the first episode, though not a lot happened. My main issue is the lighting on every characters’ face and probably Akane, though to be fair we don’t know a lot about her yet. Anyway, I’m happy to check out a second episode of this but if nothing much happens again I’m most likely going to move on, not because this is bad but simply because it isn’t really grabbing my interest.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t notice the lighting thing to be honest, but I can see what you mean – nothing really happens in this episode and I don’t really know how they’re going to set things up make things happen in the coming episodes. Still hopeful regardless. Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I quite enjoyed the first episode. There’s nothing like a good old plain school romance! Hardly anything happened in this episode bit I liked the set up between the two characters. It was interesting seeing the boy as the reserved and the girl as the athletic one. Looking forward to seeing how this story unfolds 😊

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Actually I know someone who hates them 😂 No it doesn’t which is why I thought it was such a nice little twist to put in. :’) It really adds a little bit of originality to an old tale :’)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I hesitated for a moment before liking this – someone who hates a school romance?! Crazy! I quite like the social networking thing – it’s actually something pretty realistic for any relationship but gets ignored by anime a lot 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yeah my friend really hates them. I think the only one she watched was Toradora and absolutely hated it. I was so shocked since I love Toradora :’) So true. Everyone communicated like that and especially when there’s a group project or something, a group chat is essential so it was nice to see that included. It really does make it feel more realistic ☺

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I know right?! That’s why I was so shocked! Haha yeah. Oh yeah that might be true. Unlike many other romances the characters aren’t exaggerated, they’re pretty natural.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. ill probably be watching this to see where it goes. i liked how awkward they were throughout the episode and how slow-paced it was as a result; it felt very true to middle school age kids, and i hope it keeps that atmosphere.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

