Episode Focus: Eromanga Sensei 1, My Sister, and the Sealed Room


Eromanga Sensei is the type of anime that causes much unrest in certain circles of the anime community and for good reasons.

Masamune Izumi is a high school student who writes light novels. His illustrator, who he has never met, is known as Eromanga Sensei and is well known for drawing lewd and perverted scenes and characters. I’m not going to go through the whole episode scene by scene with this one, but as I’m sure you know/guessed, Eromanga Sensei is in fact Masamune’s younger sister Sagiri. Final thing you need to know – Sagiri hasn’t left her room in over a year, follow what seems to be a family tragedy/likely bereavement.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There are two obvious reasons why you might think to stay clear of this even before watching episode one. Firstly – a young girl is drawing ecchi style drawings. Second, and more obviously for most people, is the underlying suggestion that this could turn incestuous before all is said and done.

However. And I will stress this. What I actually took from this episode of anime is that sister doesn’t like brother ergo the rest of the show will try to remedy this so that they end up as a better family. The subject matter necessitates fan service and even some ‘unexpected’ close shaves between the two main characters – and I use inverted commas for unexpected as it is only so for the characters, not for us as viewers.

Structurally this episode was reasonably sound, introducing the main character (Masamune), giving us a brief and simple background before presenting a situation that introduces the second protagonist which then leads into a presentation of the problem. The subject isn’t original and neither is the show’s presentation of it, but that doesn’t inherently make it bad. It’s catering to particular part of the community that is very good at generating money, so I’m not going to start criticising much further on that front.

With all of that said, this first episode really isn’t very good. Apart from the art which is good, though not spectacular, everything shouted ‘someone else has done this before’. From the idea of main character as light novel author through to a shut in sister, it is possible to pick other shows that have done exactly the same thing. Also – can someone write a light novel protagonist in his teens with more than zero intelligence with hair that isn’t black.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Despite that though, I’m going to finish on the tone I early adopted as this show made me laugh and inevitably I’ll come back to it week after week. Because you know, I’m allowed a cheap, unoriginal laugh from time to time.

Thanks for reading! 😀

3 thoughts on “Episode Focus: Eromanga Sensei 1, My Sister, and the Sealed Room”

  1. Personally this isn’t something I’d watch simply because it’s not something I’d enjoy. However, I was curious as to how it would turn out so this was definitely an interesting read! 😊
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and enlightening me on how this was! 😂😁

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Tell me about it! Sometimes it’s just so obvious as well which makes it worse to watch.
        No problem, it was interesting so I’ll keep up with this anime through the reviews. 😁

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

