Episode Focus: Eromanga Sensei 5, Let’s Plan a Light Novel with your Little Sister


Hey everyone! Sorry things have been a bit quiet here for the past few days – I had my one and only exam this morning so have been a little distracted. I have however, been trying to keep up with my seasonal anime, so I’m going to try and get back to doing some regular episode reviews starting with episode five of Eromanga-sensei.

eromangasensei_27.png

After everything I’ve written about this show up to this point, I have to say besides making me feel especially awkward, episode five made me feel about a bit embarrassed. If you haven’t seen any of my previous articles on the show, I’ve been hoping that Eromanga-sensei was going to keep itself on the straight and narrow (so to speak). Maintain a story where a sibling pair get to know each other better and create a light novel together – what’s wrong with that story?!

eromangasensei_29.png

That’s not how it’s going to go however, because this week, Sagiri got very upset when she realised that her older brother is not in love with her (or at least, he isn’t going to let himself be). Call my fickle, but post this event, all of a sudden new best friend showing her underwear on webcam or wannabe best friend standing naked in the bath don’t sit well with me. No really, I think I watched this episode in a position of fixed cringe.

eromangasensei_26.png

Once again, very little of any substance actually happened across the span of the twenty-four minutes with the big cliffhanger event being that Megumi is going to start reading light novels. Shock horror.

eromangasensei_30.png

I wanted to be the person that could defend this show for some reason, but it is clear that any chance of decent plot has evaporated before the mid season has arrived. Episode five of Eromanga-Sensei was simply painful to watch, even if A-1 Pictures continue to maintain ridiculously high production values.

Thanks for reading! 😀

5 thoughts on “Episode Focus: Eromanga Sensei 5, Let’s Plan a Light Novel with your Little Sister”

  1. What do you expect from a work which was made by the same person who did Oreimo? It was bound to lean into romantic relations between a sister and her older brother – whether it’d be lowkey or just full-on incest.

    I understand why people would feel uncomfortable about this anime since it gratifies incest but hey, what’d you expect? Haha.

    Anyways, good review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t seen Oreimo but have read a fair amount about it before I started Eromanga Sensei. I was kind of hoping we’d get a different tone here, but, alas, it’s just not meant to be.

      I’ll carry on watching it and probably generally enjoying, I’ll just brace myself for the cringe from now on!
      Thanks 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The show doesn’t cater to everyone due to the undertones but hell, might as well throw myself in the trash for this one, I guess.

        I don’t know. It’s kind of hilarious and interesting to see a story like this pan out.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

