Summer 2017 anime to look out for


The anime of Spring 2017 are coming to an end and it is time to look forward to the next season of TV anime. I’m going to talk about the shows I’ll be watching as well as some of the others than I may or may not go for depending on their initial reception.

Fate/Apocrypha

This is the show I’m most excited for this summer. Take the core concept of Fate/Stay Night and turn it on its head, turning a battle royal between seven masters and servants into a war between teams. The Red team – the Mages’ Association versus the Black team – the rebellious Yggdramillennia faction. I haven’t read the light novels, so there are lots of specifics I don’t know. I’m certainly looking forward to a new anime entry to the Fate franchise and hopefully A-1 Pictures won’t let us down! (Oh, and Egoist likely performing the opening, so there’s another tick in the box!)

Katsugeki/Touken Ranbu

An action historical-fantasy features spirits and samurai. Animated by ufotable. There’s a lot of potential for this to be really impressive, though I am little cautious as the source material is a card game. It will all come down to the writing here as there are so many variables when an anime doesn’t come from a manga or light novel, but it does have the bonus of being guaranteed to look spectacular (just look at the trailer!) and Kalafina are on board, so it should sound pretty good as well.

Gamers!

From fantasy to school based rom-com. Gamers! will not be breaking any moulds. However, that doesn’t mean it doesn’t have potential to be somewhat enjoyable. A cast of five are connected by their interest in video games, but beyond that we know very little. It’s from studio Pine Jam who have only been creating anime since last year so I’m not sure what to expect on the production front, but a degree of fan service here wouldn’t surprise me. I’m willing to be swayed either way going into this one.

gamers_1

Koi to Uso

Imagine you live in a society where your marriage partner is chosen for you by the government. This is the odd scenario the cast of Koi to Uso find themselves in. While this dictorial form of matchmaking isn’t ideal, the problem of the show arises when one character falls in love with someone they shouldn’t.

It’s got shoujo esque art and is likely to also be fairly dramatic. If done well I can see this being a great watch.

Youkoso Jitsuryoku Shinjou Shugi no Kyoushitsu e

This sounds like it could be very interesting. Elitist school that treats its best students fantastically while ridiculing everyone else. Youkoso (as I shall call it until an official shortening appears) focuses on the lowest of the ridiculed classes and a small group within it. The obvious comparison is with Oregairu and if it’s even half as good as that, we should be in for a treat.

New Game!!

Because 12 episodes of moe game designers wasn’t enough! This doesn’t need much explaining as it is simply the second season of New Game! and yes, I can’t wait.

newgame_2.jpg


So there you have it. These are the shows I’ll be watching from July 1st as part of the summer 2017 season. I won’t be promising to episode reviews of them all, but will aim to get at least 6 out for each over the summer plus the usual extras as and when I can.

There are a couple of other anime from the season that have potential including one isekai involving a smartphone and Kakeguri, a school based psychological gambling show! Both of these and others are on my radar but I want to wait and see how things go before I commit to them.

Thanks for reading! 😀

5 thoughts on “Summer 2017 anime to look out for”

  1. Fate/Apocrypha looks pretty interesting but I’m not going to watch it as it’s airing. I’m planning to binge watch it. :’)
    And it looks like we’re going to be mostly watching different anime’s next season. I look forward to reading your opinions on these ones since I’m not watching most of them! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmm that is a good idea – I bet it would be good to binge… oh really?! Maybe you’ve seen some things I’ve missed, I’m quite underwhelmed by most of what’s on this list at the moment :/

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah haha. Maybe, I use livecharts to decide what I’m going to watch since they usually have a lengthy list of anime’s for each season.
        To be honest it feels like there’s only a handful of good shows coming out in the summer.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, me too – it’s a pretty good way to find shows 🙂 I’ll have to look again.

        I know what you mean, it feels like I might get a chance to catch up with some older shoes though!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

